Air Force ROTC Mision

The mission of Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) is to develop quality leaders for the Air Force.

Air Force Core Values

  • Integrity First
  • Service Before Self
  • Excellence in all we do


Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps is the largest and oldest sources of commissioned officers for the Air Force. Its headquarters is located at Maxwell Air Force base (AFB), Montgomery, AL. The Air Force ROTC Pro- gram is designed to recruit, educate and commission officer candidates through college campus programs based on Air Force requirements. Students can attend classes through host or cross-town enrollment programs or consortium agreements. Cadet enrollments have ranged from a high of 23,605 in 1986 to a low of 10,231 in 1993.


ROTC was established with passage of the National Defense Act of 1916. The first Air Force ROTC units were established between 1920 and 1923 at the University of California at Berkeley, Georgia Institute of Technology, The University of Illinois, The University of Washington, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Texas A&M. After World War II, Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower, Chief of Staff of the War Department, signed General Order No. 124, establishing Air Force ROTC units at 77 colleges and universities throughout the nation. Eligible Air Force enlisted men and women pursuing a college degree who were interested in becoming commissioned officers were given that opportunity through competition in the Air Force ROTC Airman Scholarship and Commissioning Program established in 1973.

In 1978, Air Training Command assumed responsibility for Air Force ROTC programs. On 1 July 1993, Air Training Command merged with Air University to form Air Education and Training Command. Air University became a direct reporting unit under Air Education and Training Command and Air Force ROTC realigned under Air University.

In February 1997, Air Force ROTC and Officer Training School merged under the newly created parent organization, HQ Air Force Officer and Accession Training School (AFOATS). This restructuring placed oversight for three quarters of Air Force officer production under one command and facilitated the sharing of manpower and expertise with minimum effect on the day to day operations of either organization. In June 2008, HQ AFOATS was re-designated as the Jeanne M. Holm Center for Officer Accessions and Citizen Development.

Our Location

AFROTC Detachment 207
Saint Louis University
3631 Forest Park Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108

Contact Information

Phone: (314) 977-8227
Fax: (314) 977-8332
Email: afrotc@slu.edu