Engineering Honor Society Initiates New Class

January 25, 2010
Biomedical Engineering

Parks College of Engineering, Aviation, and Technology at Saint Louis University is proud to announce the initiation of its second class to Tau Beta Epsilon, the engineering honor society.  The mission of Tau Beta Epsilon is to honor young men and women who have demonstrated exemplary character and outstanding scholarship in engineering while students at Parks.

Tau Beta Epsilon was formed last year as the first step in developing a chapter of the national engineering honor society, Tau Beta Pi.  Edward H. Williams, Jr., a member of Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), founded Tau Beta Pi in 1885 while head of the mining department at Lehigh University.

Dr. Williams sought to provide a means of recognizing men of superior scholarship in engineering that was not afforded by PBK, since its scope was limited to the liberal arts and sciences.  Since its formation, Tau Beta Pi has grown steadily; there are now collegiate chapters at 241 institutions, chartered alumnus chapters in 59 cities, and a total initiated membership of over 500,000.  Famous members include Wernher von Braun, Buzz Aldrin, Seymour Cray, and Linus Pauling.

As a candidate chapter, Tau Beta Epsilon invites juniors in the top eighth of their class and seniors in the top fifth of their class to apply, electing them based on their academic achievement and integrity.  In line with SLU’s Jesuit mission, candidates must also complete a service project before admission to the society.  For this initiation, candidates volunteered for a local 5K and two community soccer games. The new members include Ankit Agrawal, Erich Boomgarden, Priyam Chakravarty, Richard Fields, Christopher Harris, Jason Jonovski, Brian Kelly, Theodore Kremer, Jason Patel, Maximus Schwanebeck, Zachary Schwartz, David Whelan, Jocelyn Wildman, and Elizabeth Wurtzler. Additional information on the organization can be found at

We commend the new members on their embracement of the mission of SLU as well as their commitment to education, engineering, and service.  Congratulations!

Back to All News