Parks Students Place 2nd in the Regional Idea to Product Competition

March 9, 2011
Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, Air Force ROTC, Aviation Science, Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Parks College News, Physics

A group of Parks Students, Michael Kelly, Gregory Keogh and Dominique Turk, competed in the  Missouri-Illinois Regional Idea to Product Competition at Saint Louis University’s John Cook School of Business on Friday, Mar. 4 and Saturday, Mar. 5. The group won second place.

The students who compete take on the task of submitting ideas even when they already have a full course load. Their faculty advisors know that I2P is of value to their student’s education and take a great deal of time to assist them throughout the process. 


The presenters in this year’s Final Competition on March 5 placed as follows:

  • 1st Place for $2,500/team – NanoMed. LLC.  Matthew MacEwan, Washington University
  • 2nd Place for $1,500/team – R-Pen.  Michael Kelly, Gregory Keogh and Dominique Turk, Saint Louis University
  • 3rd Place for $1,000/team – Illini Prosthetic Technologies. NFP.  Jonathan Naber, Adam Booher, Ehsan Noursalehi, Hari Vigneswaran, Luke Jungles and Richard Kesler, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 4th Place for $750/team – Clue-Me-In Impairment Apps.  Stephanie Salem and Noah Spitler, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • 5th Place for $500/team – Visual Search.  Jeremy Pollock, Saint Louis University
  • Alternate Finalist for $500/team – The Beacon, Colin Lake, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


The following teams won $250 for presenting at the Semi-Finals on March 4:

  • APS Healthcare Solutions (Synapse).  Palak Doshi, Nishit Sharma, Austin Lee-Richerson and Steven Bartels, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Enpage: A Global Discussion Platform. Scott Schmucker and Josh Wood, University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign
  •  Mike Golomb, Saint Louis University
  • Intermetallic Bonded Diamond Composite. Andrew Keenan and Chris Mills, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
  • Lifespeed System.  Stephen Conover, Phillip Lozanoski, Sakshi Sahni, Joanna Sowiak and Anil Vasireddi, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Milkshield.  Zeba Parkar, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Nonpareil Bridal.  Shelley Hintmann, Saint Louis University
  • SEADS-Sustainment Encapsulated Airdrop Distribution System.  John Boysha, Saint Louis University
  • SmartDispenser.  Neil Gupta and Rohit Natamasu 

Judges with prior experience in our I2P Competitions reported that this year’s ideas and presentations were even better than last year.  They were impressed by the professionalism and innovation evident in the teams and their work.  One of last year’s winners, UTicketit from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, presented at the 2010 Global I2P.

Back to All News