Engineering Honor Society Initiates Spring Class

April 16, 2012
Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, Air Force ROTC, Aviation Science, Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Parks College News

Tau Beta Pi members

Parks College of Engineering, Aviation, and Technology at Saint Louis University is proud to announce the initiation of its spring class to Tau Beta Epsilon, the engineering honor society. The mission of Tau Beta Epsilon is to honor young men and women who have demonstrated exemplary character and outstanding scholarship in engineering while students at Parks College.

Tau Beta Pi - The Engineering Honor SocietyTau Beta Epsilon (TBE) was formed in spring 2009 as the first step in developing a chapter of the national engineering honor society, Tau Beta Pi (TBP). As a candidate chapter, Tau Beta Epsilon invites juniors in the top eighth of their class and seniors in the top fifth of their class to apply, electing them based on their academic achievement and integrity. In line with SLU’s Jesuit mission, candidates must also complete a service project before admission to the society. TBE submitted an initial petition to TBP last fall and hosted a site visit of national representatives from TBP in February of this year. The chapter will be considered for admission at the fall national TBP convention.

The TBE leadership has been highly involved in moving the organization forward and has started a tutoring service this spring semester as part of their volunteer efforts. Officers this year are President, Mark Reed; Vice President, Leah Vandiver; Corresponding Secretary, Caroline Seroka; Recording Secretary, Hashir Saeed; Cataloger, Elizabeth Honigfort; and Treasurer, Krishi Peddada. Students Mark Reed, Yolatl Ruiz de Gordoa, and Matthew Hackett along with advisor Dr. David W. Barnett also attended the TBP District 9 conference in March at the Missouri University of Science and Technology. The district conference had several interactive sessions focused on leadership, recruitment, and service.

The spring 2012 initiates include students from the Class of 2013: Diana Byrne,
Kyle Donahue,
Ryan Hughes,
Catherine Mollmann, and 
Ellen Pifer; and from the Class of 2012: 
Margaret Foster, 
Carlos Herrero Lorente, 
Timothy Janczewski, 
Laura Marxkors, and Michael McRae. Additional information on the organization can be found at

We commend the new members on their embracement of the mission of SLU as well as their commitment to education, engineering, and service. Congratulations!


Back to All News